Below is a list of those who have received the IFEAT Medal Lecture Award.

The aim of the Medal Lecture is to honour those individuals who have made an outstanding contribution to the F&F industry over their career.  It was suggested by Dr W. S. Brud and agreed unanimously at an Executive Committee meeting in Singapore in October 1983.  This distinguished service medal is usually given to someone who is based in the country where the IFEAT Conference is taking place.


Year / Medal Recipient*

1984 Dr. Brian Lawrence (United Kingdom)
1985 Prof. Dr. Ilia Ognyanov
1986 Mr. Richard Taylor
1987 Prof. Dr. Angeli di Giacomo
1988 Prof. Ding Desheng
1989 Prof. S.C. Bhattacharyya
1990 Mr. O. Zeki Konur
1991 Prof. Dr Midian Sirait
1992 Prof. G. Buchbauer
1993 Prof. Karim B. Yaacob
1994 Dr. G. Clair
1995 Prof. Dr. K. Husnu Can Baser
1996 Mr. Alexander Kern
1997 Dra. Maria Concepción García Vallejo
1998 Mr. Ron Neal
1999 Prof. Zhu Liang-Feng
2000 Mr. Robert Webb
2001 Prof. Samuel Benchimol (Brazil)
2002 Dr. Wladyslaw S. Brud
2003 Mr. Geoff Davis
2004 Mr. Ramon Bordas Sr. (Spain), posthumous award
2005 Dr. A G Matthew
2006 Prof. Earle H. Graven
2007 Prof. Jeno Bernath (Hungary)
2008 Dr. Guy Collin
2009 Mr. Yongchen Hu
2010 Dr. Jamal-Eddine Chahboun
2011 Mr. Francisco Fernandez Alvarez-Castellanos
2012 Mr. Chih Lung Shih
2013 Mr. Stephen Manheimer
2014 Prof. Luigi Mondello
2015 Dr. R.O.B. Wijesekera
2016 Mr Abdulla Ajmal
2017 No Medal Lecture given


IFEAT Cairo, Egypt
Int. Congress of Ess. Oils, Varna, Bulgaria
Int. Congress of Ess. Oils, Washington, USA
IFEAT Taormina, Sicily, Italy
IFEAT Beijing, China
Int. Congress of Ess. Oils New Delhi, India
IFEAT Antalya, Turkey
Int. Congress of Ess. Oils Jakarta, Indonesia
Int. Congress of Ess. Oils Vienna, Austria
IFEAT Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
IFEAT Avignon, France
Int. Congress of Ess. Oils Istanbul, Turkey
IFEAT Tel Aviv, Israel
IFEAT Seville, Spain
IFEAT London, UK
IFEAT Hong Kong
IFEAT Florida, USA
IFEAT Buenos Aires, Argentina
IFEAT Warsaw, Poland
IFEAT Sydney, Australia
IFEAT Lisbon, Portugal
IFEAT Cochin, India
IFEAT Cape Town, South Africa
IFEAT Budapest, Hungary
IFEAT Montreal, Canada
IFEAT Shanghai, China
IFEAT Marrakech, Morocco
IFEAT Barcelona, Spain
IFEAT Singapore
IFEAT San Francisco, USA
IFEAT Rome, Italy
IFEAT Colombo, Sri Lanka
IFEAT Athens, Greece

*Unless stated otherwise, the recipient was from the country in which the conference was held.




The Founder’s Award – The Ronald Neal Award for Special Achievement and Service to the Flavour and Fragrance Industry – was introduced in 2006 at the Cape Town Conference Closing Banquet.

Year / Recipient

2006   Mr. Ronald Neal
2008   Dr. Brian Lawrence
2009   Mr. Thierry Duclos
2010   Dr. Clinton Green
2011   Mr. Stephen Manheimer
2013   Mr. Richard Pisano Sr.
2013   Dr. Wladyslaw S. Brud
2014   Dr. Peter Greenhalgh
2015   Mr João Ernesto Dierberger
2016   Mr Sant K Sanganeria
2017   Mr Michael G Boudjouk


History of the 40 years of IFEAT!

Read Peter Greenhalgh’s “History of IFEAT” series. The full version in a book was given as a gift at the Athens Fortieth Anniversary Conference 2017. Each of these articles has been included in recent issues of IFEATWORLD.


6th Floor, Mutual House
70 Conduit Street
London W1S 2GF
United Kingdom
Telephone Number: +44 (0) 1707 245826
VAT Registration No. GB 524 7879 10